Two Dio Live Albums to Be Reissued as Part of New Archival Series

Evil or Divine: Live in New York City and Holy Diver Live will arrive on February 12th

Dio Live Album Reissue Series
Ronnie James Dio, via YouTube

    A pair of Dio live albums will be reissued as part of BMG’s new “Dio Live Album Reissues Series”. The first two releases will be 2005’s Evil or Divine: Live in New York City and 2006’s Holy Diver Live on February 12th.

    The live documents will be back on vinyl for first time in years, with the original pressings long out of print and highly collectible. Despite arriving relatively late in Ronnie James Dio’s career, both albums are powerful testaments to the late singer’s ability to command the stage and incite a crowd of heavy metal maniacs.

    A previously unheard recording of “Lord of the Last Day” (from Evil or Divine) and a ripping version of “Holy Diver” (from Holy Diver Live) have been shared along with the press announcement for the reissues, exemplifying the quality of these two releases. They’re as potent as any of Dio’s studio albums, and perhaps more so, with the hordes in attendance shouting the lyrics in cadence with the legendary frontman.


    “I am very excited to be working with BMG, a label that still has a passion for rock music,” stated Ronnie’s widow, Wendy Dio. “They will be making the complete Dio catalogue available again with some interesting surprises.”

    Both records have been newly remastered and feature updated artwork and layouts. The LP versions are each generously spread across three slabs of 180-gram wax for maximum fidelity. The final side of Evil or Divine also includes four bonus tracks from the recent Dio studio reissue project.

    Take a look at the artwork and tracklist for both albums and stream the live versions of “Holy Diver” and “Lord of the Last Day” below. You can pre-order Evil or Divine here and Holy Diver Live here.


    Evil or Divine: Live in New York City Artwork:

    Dio Evil or Divine reissue

    Evil or Divine: Live in New York City Tracklist:

    Side A
    01. Killing the Dragon
    02. Egypt (The Chains Are On)
    03. Push

    Side B
    04. Drum Solo – Simon Wright
    05. Stand Up and Shout
    06. Rock and Roll
    07. Don’t Talk to Strangers

    Side C
    08. Man On The Silver Mountain
    09. Guitar Solo – Doug Aldrich
    10. Long Live Rock ‘N’ Roll
    11. Lord of the Last Day

    Side D
    12. Fever Dreams
    13. Holy Diver
    14. Heaven and Hell

    Side E
    15. The Last in Line
    16. Rainbow in The Dark
    17. We Rock

    Side F (Bonus) – Best of Studio Albums 1996-2004 [LP Only]
    18. This Is Your Life (Angry Machines)
    19. Fever Dreams (Magica)
    20. Push (Killing the Dragon)
    21. The Eyes (Master of the Moon)


    Holy Diver Live Artwork:

    Dio Holy Dive Live reissue

    Holy Diver Live Tracklist:

    Side A
    01. Intro
    02. Stand Up and Shout
    03. Holy Diver
    04. Gypsy
    05. Drum Solo – Simon Wright

    Side B
    06. Caught in the Middle
    07. Don’t Talk to Strangers
    08. Straight Through the Heart
    09. Invisible

    Side C
    10. Rainbow in the Dark
    11. Shame on the Night
    12. Guitar Solo – Doug Aldrich
    13. Holy Diver (Reprise)

    Side D
    14. Tarot Woman
    15. Sign of the Southern Cross
    16. One Night in the City

    Side E
    17. Gates of Babylon
    18. Heaven and Hell

    Side F
    19. Man on the Silver Mountain
    20. Catch the Rainbow
    21. Long Live Rock ‘N’ Roll
    22. Call for Encore
    23. We Rock


Latest Stories