Box Set of Bon Scott’s Pre-AC/DC Band Fraternity Released with Previously Unheard Tracks

The legendary singer fronted the band in the early '70s, prior to joining AC/DC

Bon Scott Pre-AC/DC Band Fraternity Box Set
Fraternity featuring Bon Scott (center, with vest), courtesy of Cherry Red Records

    A box set of late singer Bon Scott’s pre-AC/DC prog-rock band Fraternity has been released via Cherry Red Records. The 3-CD collection, titled Seasons of Change, encompasses Fraternity’s complete recorded output from 1970 to 1974.

    Along with Fraternity’s two full-length albums, 1971’s Livestock and 1972’s Flaming Galah, the box set includes non-album singles, B-sides, EP tracks, live tracks, and the band’s “lost” third album, Second Chance.

    “Scott’s tenure with Fraternity has been poorly documented on the reissue market,” reads Cherry Red’s description of the set. “Of the two albums the band had issued at the time, Livestock and Flaming Galah, neither album has been released officially. And their story has never been told accurately.”


    The collection was officially curated by the surviving members of Fraternity. In addition, the long-lost cache of session tapes for Second Chance were uncovered during the research stages for the box set. These are complemented by live tracks recorded at Port Lincoln, South Australia, and unheard songs with vocal/songwriting contributions from Bon Scott.

    While not the riff-fueled hard rock of AC/DC, Fraternity had a sound all their own, falling under the “Australian progressive rock” umbrella and mixing elements of folk and blues rock. The title of the box set is taken from arguably the band’s most well-known single, “Seasons of Change”.

    The set can be purchased via Amazon or Cherry Red. See Bon Scott and the rest of Fraternity performing “Seasons of Change”, followed by the box set’s artwork and tracklist below.


    Fraternity: Seasons of Change – The Complete Recordings 1970-1974 Artwork:

    Fraternity: Seasons of Change – The Complete Recordings 1970-1974 Tracklist:

    Disc One – Livestock
    01. Livestock
    02. Somerville
    03. Raglan’s Folly
    04. Cool Spot
    05. Grand Canyon Suites
    06. Jupiter Landscape
    07. You Have A God
    08. It
    09. Why Did It Have To Be Me?
    10. Question
    11. Seasons Of Change (Single Version)
    12. Somerville (Single Version)
    13. The Race Part 1
    14. The Race Part 2

    Disc Two – Flaming Galah
    01. Welfare Boogie
    02. Annabelle
    03. Seasons Of Change
    04. If You Got It
    05. You Have A God
    06. Hemming’s Farm
    07. Raglan’s Folly
    08. Getting Off
    09. Somerville R.I.P
    10. Canyon Suite
    11. The Shape I’m In
    12. If You Got It
    13. Raglan’s Folly
    14. You Have A God
    15. Seasons Of Change / If You Got It (Hoadley’s Battle Of The Sounds 1971)

    Disc Three – Second Chance
    01. Second Chance
    02. Tiger
    03. Going Down
    04. Requiem
    05. Patch Of Land
    06. Cool Spot (Alternative Version)
    07. Hogwash
    08. Chest Fever
    09. Little Queenie
    10. The Memory
    11. Just Another Whistle Stop
    12. No Particular Place To Go
    13. Livestock
    14. Rented Room Blues
    15. Get Myself Out Of This Place (Alias Getting Off)
    16. That’s Alright Momma


Latest Stories