Joni Mitchell Announces New Box Set The Reprise Albums (1968-1971)

To celebrate the 50th anniversary of Blue

Joni Mitchell The Reprise Albums vinyl box set Blue stream in 1970
Joni Mitchell in 1970

    Joni Mitchell is celebrating arguably her greatest run as an artist with a new box set. The collection, titled The Reprise Albums (1968-1971), will feature her prolific four-album run for Reprise Records — 1968’s Song to a Seagull, 1969’s Clouds, 1970’s Ladies of the Canyon, and 1971’s Blue — just in time to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the iconic Blue. The box set is due out June 25th via Rhino.

    The Reprise Albums (1968-1971) will feature newly remastered versions of all four albums, but arguably the most significant is Song to a Seagull. Mitchell and mixer Matt Lee updated the original mix after discovering that it was muddled and grainy. “The original mix was atrocious,” said Mitchell in a statement. “It sounded like it was recorded under a jello bowl, so I fixed it!”

    Longtime fans and new listeners alike will find that The Reprise Albums (1968-1971) serves as a reminder of why Mitchell is one of the greatest singers of all time. Listening to the newly remastered version of “A Case of You”, which Mitchell has shared today to celebrate the box set news, her voice sounds more heartfelt and refined than ever before. Stream it below


    The box set also includes an essay by country folk-rock artist Brandi Carlile, a longtime fan of Mitchell who recently covered Blue in its entirety live. “In my opinion, Blue is the greatest album ever made. Blue didn’t make me a better songwriter. Blue made me a better woman,” her essay reads. “No matter what we are dealing with in these times, we can rejoice and know that of all the ages we could have lived through, we lived in the time of Joni Mitchell.”

    The 180-gram vinyl box set for The Reprise Albums (1968-1971) is limited to 10,000 copies. Pre-orders for the vinyl, CD, and digital versions of the box set — plus her first-ever line of official merch — are currently available at Mitchell’s website or via Amazon. Check out the cover art for it, a previously unseen self-portrait that Mitchell sketched during the time period, after the jump.

    For those keeping track, this new box set is a part of Mitchell’s ongoing archival series of her extensive catalog, but technically it isn’t Vol. 2. The sequel to Vol. 1: The Early Years (1963-1967) will focus on the timeframe when she recorded these four albums and will come with unreleased audio, demos, and more. A press release says that Vol. 2 will arrive “later this year.”


    The Reprise Albums (1968-1971) Artwork:

    The Reprise Albums (1968-1971) by Joni Mitchell box set album artwork cover art

    The Reprise Albums (1968-1971) Tracklist:
    Song To A Seagull (1968)
    I Came to the City
    01. “I Had A King
    02. “Michael From Mountains
    03. “Night In The City
    04. “Marcie
    05. “Nathan La Franeer
    Out of the City and Down the Seaside
    06. Sisotowbell Lane
    07. The Dawntreader
    08. The Pirate Of Penance
    09. Song To A Seagull
    10. Cactus Tree

    Clouds (1969)
    01. Tin Angel
    02. Chelsea Morning
    03. I Don’t Know Where I Stand
    04. That Song About The Midway
    05. Roses Blue
    06. The Gallery
    07. I Think I Understand
    08. Songs To Aging Children Come
    09. The Fiddle And The Drum
    10. Both Sides, Now

    Ladies Of The Canyon (1970)
    01. Morning Morgantown
    02. For Free
    03. Conversation
    04. Ladies Of The Canyon
    05. Willy
    06. The Arrangement
    07. Rainy Night House
    08. The Priest
    09. Blue Boy
    10. Big Yellow Taxi
    11. Woodstock
    12. The Circle Game


    Blue (1971)
    01. All I Want
    02. My Old Man
    03. Little Green
    04. Carey
    05. Blue
    06. California
    07. This Flight Tonight
    08. River
    09. A Case Of You
    10. The Last Time I Saw Richard


Latest Stories