Knocked Loose Surprise Release New EP A Tear in the Fabric of Life: Stream

The hardcore act also unveil an accompanying short film

knocked loose tear in the fabric of life ep

Knocked Loose have released a surprise new EP, A Tear in the Fabric of Life, along with an accompanying animated short film.

It’s the first new music we’ve heard from the rising hardcore act since 2019, when Knocked Loose released the Mistakes Like Fractures EP and their sophomore full-length, A Different Shade of Blue.

Upon an immediate cursory listen, A Tear in the Fabric of Life sees Knocked Loose expanding on their invigorating brand of metallic hardcore across six new tracks. According to frontman/lyricist Bryan Garris, there’s more of a death-metal influence this time around.

“This is the first time we really dove in and tried to create something sonically that evokes a different range of emotions,” Garris said via a press release, “and overall something that introduces tension and anxiety with a massive pay off.”

The stunning animated video created by Swedish filmmaker Magnus Jonsson makes the release feel much more substantial than a mere stopgap EP. Garris’ vision for the songs and Jonsson’s darkly surreal aesthetic align for a captivating 21-minute viewing experience.

“It’s a story about extreme grief and the levels a person is willing to go through to get rid of it,” Garris said of the EP and video. “The story follows a main character through a traumatic car crash late one night in the woods that leaves his partner deceased, and from there you spiral with him into the depression and guilt that comes with being the cause of something so detrimental.”

Jonsson called the video an “intense nightmare,” adding: “I always want to create something that complements the music, works within its structures and hopefully enriches the experience for the audience. With a longer format around 21 minutes, covering 6 tracks, I knew this dark ghost story was a very interesting challenge to explore in animation. I took the story presented in the songs and anchored that into a visual world.”

[editors-picks id=”1123933″]

A Tear in the Fabric of Life was recorded and produced by Will Putney. It is available now via Pure Noise Records and digital streaming outlets, with a vinyl pressing due out December 17th.

You can still catch Knocked Loose on tour supporting Gojira. The trek runs through an October 29th date in Cleveland, and tickets are available via Ticketmaster.

Watch the animated short film for A Tear in the Fabric of Life and check out the album art and tracklist below.

A Tear in the Fabric of Life EP Artwork:

A Tear in the Fabric of Life EP Tracklist:
01. Where Light Divides the Holler
02. God Knows
03. Forced to Stay
04. Contorted in the Faille
05. Return to Passion
06. Permanent


Follow Consequence