Speedy Ortiz Announce New Compilation The Death of Speedy Ortiz & Cop Kicker…Forever

Plus, check out a new music video for "Cutco"

speedy ortiz sadie dupuis the death of speedy ortiz and cop killer forever lp

Sadie Dupuis has spent the last decade writing and recording playful indie rock as Speedy Ortiz. Now, the musician is commemorating her 10th year under the moniker with a 2xLP compilation called The Death of Speedy Ortiz & Cop Kicker…Forever, featuring some of the band’s earliest work. The expansive reissue is due out November 12th via Carpark, and as a preview, Dupuis has also shared the new self-directed video for “Cutco.”

The Death of Speedy Ortiz & Cop Kicker…Forever will include the contents of 2011’s Cop Kicker EP and The Death of Speedy Ortiz LP, all now remastered by Dupuis, who’s since become a go-to producer in her own right. You’ll also get to enjoy a handful of previously unreleased tracks, reflective liner notes written by Dupuis, and a collection of photos from the early days of Speedy Ortiz.

“I can’t claim Speedy as a solo project anymore — I love working with the friends and bandmates who have played and recorded with me over the years,” Dupuis writes in the liner notes. “But I’m so proud of these 22 solo songs, which I put a lot of heart and time and sweat into in both 2011 and 2021, and it feels right to honor them by finally re-releasing them with Carpark (who I’ve worked with for pretty darn close to a decade, too) in a more widely listenable way.”

If the music video for “Cutco” — which Dupuis also edited herself — feels lifted from a ’90s horror movie to you, then you’re on the right track. “Rewatching Blair Witch Project, I found the characters’ treatment of one another exemplary of the early 20s heedlessness I was venting about on ‘Cutco,'” she adds. “So with some help from my Speedy bandmates Andy Molholt and Audrey Zee Whitesides, we made a shot-for-shot homage to a ’90s horror classic — with one delicious change to the formula.”

[editors-picks id=”1072807″]

The Death of Speedy Ortiz & Cop Kicker…Forever will see a physical release on January 28th; preorders are ongoing. Check out the album details and see the music video for “Cutco” below.

Dupuis’ last LP was 2020’s Haunted Paintingwhich she released under her newer Sad13 moniker.

The Death of Speedy Ortiz & Cop Kicker…Forever Artwork:

death of speedy ortiz and cop killer forever album artwork sadie dupuis

The Death of Speedy Ortiz & Cop Kicker…Forever Tracklist:
01. Hexxy Sadie
02. Cutco
03. Phish Phood
04. Kinda Blew
05. Ken Ohki
06. Speedy Ortiz
07. Hurricane Speedy
08. Thank You
09. Frankenweenie
10. Blondie
11. Ka-Prow!
12. Necronomicon
13. Teething
14. Doomsday
15. All Red
16. Let’s Get Evicted
17. Open Sesame
18. Bill Sauce
19. Summon It
20. Deady
21. Meat of Contract
22. Son Of


Follow Consequence