Philip Anselmo, Nick Oliveri, and Gary Holt Lead All-Star Cover of Motörhead’s “Ace of Spades”: Stream

The track highlights the upcoming compilation album Löve Me Förever: A Tribute to Motörhead

Philip Anselmo Motorhead cover

An all-star cover of “Ace of Spades” highlights an upcoming Motörhead tribute album, and a video for the track has just been released. The rendition of the rock classic features Philip Anselmo (Pantera, Down), Nick Oliveri (Stöner, ex-Queens of the Stone Age), Gary Holt (Slayer, Exodus), and more.

Last year it was reported that the album Löve Me Förever: A Tribute to Motörhead would be recorded by various bands and artists during the 2021 Psycho Las Vegas festival. Now, the compilation is set for release on June 19th, via the festival’s new imprint, Psycho Waxx.

The rendition of “Ace of Spades” also features Dwid Hellion (Integrity), Chuck Garric (Alice Cooper, L.A. Guns), Sacha Dunable (Intronaut, Crematorium), Kelley and Kyle Juett (Mothership), and Tom Polzine and Zach Wheeler (both of Howling Giant).

Anselmo takes lead vocals on the first verse, delivering a mighty Lemmy Kilmister impression. “It felt great. It felt natural,” stated Anselmo of the cover song. “I think I did pretty good. The first thing that attracted me to Motörhead was Lemmy Kilmister and the sound of his voice. And then it was solidified in 1986 when I went to a show outside of New Orleans, Louisiana, and it was Agnostic Front and Motörhead. It was a wall of crushing sound and they were just incredible. Lemmy is forever and I love him.”

[editors-picks id=”1205536″]

The rest of the 18-track compilation contains Motörhead covers by the likes of High on Fire, Eyehategod, Creeping Death, and more. It is available for pre-order via Psycho Waxx’s Bandcamp page, with the digital release arriving June 19th and the vinyl edition shipping out around July 28th.

See the all-star rendition of “Ace of Spades” below, followed by the artwork and trackllist for Löve Me Förever: A Tribute to Motörhead.

Löve Me Förever: A Tribute to Motörhead Artwork:

Motorhead tribute album

Löve Me Förever: A Tribute to Motörhead Tracklist:
01. King Dude – “Killed by Death”
02. Stöner – “R.a.m.o.n.e.s.”
03. High on Fire – “Iron Fist”
04. Cephalic Carnage – “Order / Fade to Black”
05. Eyehategod – “Motörhead”
06. Lord Buffalo – “God Was Never on Your Side”
07. Howling Giant W/ Chuck Garric & Calico Cooper – “Love Me Like a Reptile”
08. Mothership – “Bomber”
09. Foie Gras – “Born to Lose”
10. Psychlona – “Iron Horse”
11. Blackwater Holylight W/ Matt Pike – “Please Don’t Touch”
12. Creeping Death – “In the Name of Tragedy”
13. The Bridge City Sinners – “Go to Hell”
14. Exhorder – “Sacrifice”
15. Death by Stereo – “Born to Raise Hell”
16. Midnight – “Dirty Love”
17. Relaxer – “America”
18. Phil Anselmo / Gary Holt / Kelley Juett / Sacha Dunable / Tom Polzine / Nick Oliveri / Dwid Hellion / Kyle Juett / Chuck Garric / Zach Wheeler – “Ace of Spades”


Follow Consequence