Everything We Know About Olivia Rodrigo’s New Album GUTS (So Far)

Her first music since the record-breaking SOUR is arriving soon

olivia rodrigo 2023 album
Olivia Rodrigo, photo by Dan Garcia

    Following the enormous success of her debut album, SOUR, three-time Grammy Award-winner Olivia Rodrigo is releasing her sophomore follow-up, GUTS. Smashes “drivers license,” “good 4 u,” and “traitor” pushed the young singer-songwriter from rising star status into outright pop phenomenon territory, and the “SOUR Tour” allowed Rodrigo to take her talents on the road, where a string of excellent covers offered a look into the music that shaped her as an artist.

    In 2021, SOUR was the most-streamed album globally on Spotify; additionally, moving over 263,000 copies of the album on vinyl contributed to records outselling CDs in 2022 for the first time in over three decades.

    We’ll be updating this guide as soon as new information becomes available. Here’s what we know about Rodrigo’s 2023 album so far.

    What Is the Title of Olivia Rodrigo’s New Album?

    On June 26th, Olivia Rodrigo revealed the title of the album as GUTS. The first song being released is “vampire.” As of now, it appears the singer-songwriter will be sticking to the format of an all-caps title and lowercase song names used in 2021’s SOUR. 


    In a statement, Rodrigo described GUTS as an album “about growing pains and trying to figure out who I am at this point in my life.”

    What Is the Release Date For Olivia Rodrigo’s New Album?

    GUTS will arrive on September 8th and will be released via Geffen Records. Her first new single of the year, “vampire,” arrived June 30th, 2023.

    Pre-order is now available for CD, cassette, vinyl, and limited-edition box sets. Vinyl is offered in four D2C exclusive colors—red, white, blue, and purple. Place a pre-order here.

    What Do We Know About “vampire,” the First Single Off Her New Album?

    According to a press release, “vampire” is “imbued with a sense of maturity and a bold confidence.” The track was co-written and produced by Daniel Nigro, who also worked on SOUR with the artist. The producer also appeared in the Disney+ documentary about the making of the album titled driving home 2 u.

    What’s on the Tracklist for Olivia Rodrigo’s New Album?

    Rodrigo teased the GUTS tracklist in an Instagram video July 31st, and confirmed it in another clip the following day. The 12-song tracklist is as follows:


    01. all american bitch
    02. bad idea right?
    03. vampire
    04. lacy
    05. ballad of a homeschool girl
    06. making the bed
    07. logical
    08. get him back
    09. love is embarrassing
    10. the grudge
    11. pretty isn’t pretty
    12. teenage dream

    What About the Cover Art for Olivia Rodrigo’s New Album:

    While we wait for artwork for the full album to be officially unveiled, Rodrigo has shared the first look at “vampire,” which references the poster for the 1986 horror film Dracula Has Risen from the Grave.

    Rodrigo frequently makes film references through her work, particularly her music videos — “good 4 u” included nods to The Princess Diaries, Jennifer’s Body, and more.


Latest Stories